29 Tammuz 5777
23 July 2017
search site
London School of Jewish Studies

Mazal Tov Maureen!

Mazal Tov to Maureen Kendler on her appointment as a judge for The JQ Wingate Literary Prize.

The Wingate Prize was established in 1977 by the late Harold Hyam Wingate. It is now known as the JQ-Wingate Prize and is being run in association with JW3, the Jewish Community Centre. The annual £4,000 prize, run in association with JW3, is awarded to the best book – fiction or non-fiction – to translate the idea of Jewishness to the general reader. It is the only UK literary prize of its kind and, as such, attracts nominations from all over the globe.  Previous winners include Amos Oz, Zadie Smith, Oliver Sacks, Otto Dov Kulka and David Grossman. The prize long list will be announced in November, followed by the short list January. The winner will be announced during an event at JW3 in February.

The judging line-up for the 2018 JQ Wingate Literary Prize brings together a panel who have explored literature from every angle.TLS fiction and politics editor Toby Lichtig joins journalist, broadcaster and Booker Prize Foundation trustee Bidisha, along with author and critic Amanda Craig and London School of Jewish Studies Teaching Fellow Maureen Kendler as the 2018 judges for British Jewry’s most prestigious book award.

Maureen teaches our very popular series Modern Jewish Literature.